The Research and Development Services of Aurora State College of Technology with the supervision of Forester Maria Cristina B. Cañada, Director, Research and Development Services has successfully conducted its Annual Agency In-House Review of Completed & On-going Research and Development/Extension Projects and Social Researches last October 25, 2019 at Accreditation Hall, Dr. Juan C. Angara. The aim of this activity is to give chance to the College Research Technical Committee (CRTC) and College Research Ethics Committee (CREC) members to help evaluate research, development, and extension projects to select ASCOT Representatives for the CLAARRDEC Research Symposium for the year 2020 and to promote interaction among researchers, students and experts on possible or recent research findings and technologies generated.

Dr. Rotaquio, ASCOT College President welcomes the board of evaluators who are experts in their field of specialization headed by the Chairman, Dr. Fe. L. Porciuncula, CLSU Vice-President for Research and Director of CLAARRDEC Extension and Training and University Professor, Dr. Soledad M. Roguel, Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Institute of Inter-Education at Manuel D. Gallego Foundation College, Dr. Rodolfo P. Estigoy, DA-PHILMech Chief Science Research Specialist and CLAARRDEC Coordinator of Technology Transfer Group and Dr. Jerwin C. Undan, Associate Professor and Head of Biotechnology and Analytical Laboratory.

A total of 15 technical papers were presented during the review; four (4) under the research category; three (3) under Extension and Development Category and six (6) under Thesis Category.
Dr. Jonah D. Zante’s paper entitled “Different Substrate Materials on Vermiworm Production and its Vermicast Utilization as Media for Tomato Seed Germination” bagged the first place under the Research Category followed by Ms. Lara Tereza Arcillas’ paper a study on “Effects of Extreme Weather Events on Livestock Production, Small Agricultural Infrastructures and Livelihood Conditions of Male and Female Members of Households in Central Aurora” and Mr. Neil B. Montero’s “Prediction of South China Sea Level Using Seasonal ARIMA Models” bagged the 2nd and 3rd place, respectively.
Under the Thesis Category, Mr. Edeniel Jerome Valete snatched the first place for the best paper award with his paper entitled “Phytochemical Analysis of Locally Edible and Medicinal Ferns of Baler, Aurora, Philippines,” while Mr. Marco F. De Guzman’s paper “Antimicrobial Activities of the Soft Tissues in Asian Clam (Corbicula fluminea) and Mangrove Clam (Polymesoda erosa)” got 2nd place best paper and Dr. Riosahlie Y. Madrid’s paper entitled “Development of Reference Template for Lamp Assay in Detecting FgCatB3 Gene in Juvenille Fasciola gigantica Flukes among Large Ruminants” placed 3rd for best paper.

In Extension and Development Category, the first place was Mr. Sherwin B. Glorioso with study entitled “WIFI and GSM Based Agriculture Sensors for SMART Trickle Irrigation,” while the 2nd place was Mr. Ricardo B. Gonzales, Jr., with his study entitled “Youth Agripreneur thru Canili Family Farm School: RA 10618,” and 3rd place was Ms. Rolina M. Fajardo with her study entitled “Alay-Kaalaman para sa KABUTEng KABUHAYAN Project (AKKKP) in Brgy. Salay, Dipaculao, Aurora.”
Under Poster Category, Ms. Glenda M. Nad reaped the first place entitled “Paggamit ng Social Media bilang Stratehiya sa Pagtuturo ng Panitikan,” then engr. Alking B. Gorospe with study entitled “Delamination Strength and Characteristic of a ReBCO Coated Conductor Tapes under Traverse Tensile Loading using Anvil Method,” and Mr. Marco F. De Guzman with study entitled “Antimicrobial Activities of the Soft Tissues in Asian Clam (Corbicula fluminea) and Mangrove Clam (Polymesoda erosa)” was placed 2nd and 3rd consecutively.
A total of 93 participants composed of guests, evaluators, administration officials, faculty, farmers and students witnessed the event. Winners were given a cash incentives and certificates.