In recognition of his outstanding work as a government employee and for extending his dedicated service to Aurora State College of Technology (ASCOT) and other communities, Mr. Don Sean Arvie V. Buencamino, one of the faculty members from the Department of Information Technology and the Director of the Department of Distance and Online Learning was given the Dangal ng Bayan Award 2021, from the Civil Service Commission (CSC) in a Virtual Awarding Ceremony, November 15.

Mr. Buencamino stood out from other nominees and won the award for his perseverance in developing Information Systems, which greatly contributed to the efficiency in the delivery of services of ASCOT as an educational institution.

His programs and projects generated savings in millions of pesos for the government, including the ASCOT Human Resource Information System, Online Entrance Examination System, Certificate Management System, and the Virtual Accreditation System.

In addition, Mr. Buencamino’s Barangay Information Management System (BIMS) contributed a lot in storing and digitalizing essential information and data of citizens from different barangays in different parts of Aurora, making their transactions smoother and more efficient to avoid delays in providing basic services.

In his message during the virtual awarding rites, Mr. Buencamino said that as an educator, developing the skills and competencies among his students served as his motivation in teaching them, especially in ensuring that they will be able to use this knowledge in their lives as future professionals. He also added that in his own way, he knew that he was able to not only give learnings to his students, but also he was able to touch their lives.

As one of the Dangal ng Bayan awardees, Sir Sean will be receiving a trophy designed by the late Napoleon V. Abueva, National Artist for Sculpture, a gold-gilded medallion made by the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, a Php 200,000.00 cash reward, and automatic promotion to the next higher position.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte graced the said event and delivered a message congratulating and thanking the awardees for their selfless and dedicated service to the country. He also added that the awardees should be proud of their recognition and use it to inspire and serve more Filipinos.